BOOK TALK: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Howdy y’all! I’m very pleased and excited of the book we’re reviewing today. I may not have been a victim of a cruel reading slump, it has been a while since I read a fantasy book I was this pumped up for. It’s none other than:

Six-of-Crows-Cover.jpg

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

 

1456280780968-1

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

1456280826378-1

I honestly don’t even know where to begin with since so much happened and all of which were told and executed in epic proportions. I can already say this is one of my top books I’d get to read this year, which makes me even more excited for Crooked Kingdom coming out September this year.

It was so easy to get thrown into this world, especially having read the Grisha trilogy first. Plus the book has a map which is a-maaaaaaaaa-zing. (We all know how books with good maps already tell you the book is awesome.) The way the scenes were told were very vivid, one trait I have always liked of Bardugo’s writing. I suck at taking directions and understanding them, so being able to comprehend this book’s descriptions of the places says alot.

Bardugo takes this heist story to a whole new level. The writing is very clever and I absolutely loved how logic was practically seeping through the pages. It definitely is engaging in terms of it making you think and plot along with the characters – how will they execute this? What is the best strategy for them to pull this off?  Is the route their going to take the best one? I also found it gripping in a way that you would feel anxious for the characters when they were carrying out the heist, you’d feel nervous when a part of their plan seemingly fails, and you’d feel a surge of pride when it does come through. The twists and turns in this book are on point.

The characters are quite distinct from each other as well and I do appreciate the fact that Bardugo has incorporated their back stories as the story goes on – it makes you feel more connected with them and it feels as if you know them more. However, there was still this mysterious allure they had which isn’t bad at all. It actually works in their favor. It pulls you towards them even more.

And speaking of their back stories, despite all the struggles they went through– and are still going through, it doesn’t make you pity them but instead they become inspirations and epitomes of resilience. Although being “proper thieves” isn’t exactly a favorable way to rise against the odds, you get the idea. 😂😉

I admire all of the six leading characters in the book, but my favorite would have to be Inej. I look up to her because I admire how faithful and loyal she is. She risks her life everyday just to survive but she demands respect in her aura. She is deadly and you shouldn’t mess with her, no matter how young or innocent she might seem.

With all this said, I could say that I practically couldn’t put the book down and each chapter will make you want for more!

45stars

I give this a 4.5 out of 5 stars. Such an amazing read! 😍

If you haven’t read this yet, I will shamelessly urge you to, or at least put it in your TBR here. And if you have, especially if you posted about it, you can send me links in the comments below so I could read your thoughts, too ❤

Thank you for reading! Til the next post. X

PicsArt_10-10-12.55.02

4 thoughts on “BOOK TALK: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Oh man, I still need to read this!! But whenever I pass it by in the book store, it’s suuuper expensive. ;_; I’m so glad you liked it though! Makes me feel more excited for when I finally read it myself! Great review, Maan!! I love characters that are resilient and inspire. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

