[Backlist Revival Project] BOOK TALK: In Over Her Head by Anne Plaza

Howdy y’all! For today’s post, we’ll review the Backlist Revival Project‘s book of the month which is:

 

images[2]

 In Over Her Head by Anne Plaza

 

1456280780968-1

All she wants is to get even…

Erika Apostol’s quiet and unassuming life gets disrupted when she learns that Richard Javier, the very same person who broke her heart many years ago, is now back in the country. Her world is turned upside down as old feelings she thought were buried resurface to haunt her once more.

Determined to give Richard a dose of his own medicine, Erika finds herself involved in an outrageous plan devised by her friends. They enlist the help of Jerome Gonzales, an attractive and charismatic DJ (with a playboy reputation), to pose as her significant other.

As the plan goes in full swing, Erika discovers Richard’s jealous side, and that there’s something more to Jerome than meets the eye. Will this grand charade work out the way it should, or will she be left with nothing in the end?

1456280826378-1

This relatable, light and romantic however, occassional-headshake-inducing book is the perfect read for this month of love. To cut it short, it’s about a long term relationship which ended without any closures. Then years later, the past comes biting back at them which leaves them the chance of either rekindling their love or continuing their lives, living separate ways.

First thing I want to discuss is how mad I was at the male lead in this story, Richard, who broke up with his long-time partner, Erika, over a job he landed at another country. Considering this is how the book opened, this is how I felt towards Richard for the most part of the book.

Simply put, I don’t think any relationship should end like that; abrupt and without closures, especially when it’s long term. I don’t see how the guy respects the relationship in these situations, and I could see why it would take a long time for the girl to move on and mope around. However, I feel that this should not dictate a girl’s happiness (or sadness, rather), their dependence on men. Which is why I was frustrated for a while at the female lead as well, for wasting a whole decade thinking about that one guy. I’d rather see it as an opportunity to dust the pain off and be your better self, if not for your ex’s sake, then yours.

This being said, it goes to show I dislike girls whose lives and happiness depend on their partner. I sincerely want to scream at them to wake up and realize that there are more things in life than the love from the opposite sex.

Considering this is my opinion on things, beginning the book, I felt a little unsure. I didn’t feel the story at first but as I read further, I honestly felt how Erika was feeling: all that hate and anger, not to mention the need for vengeance after knowing that during your ex’s stay at Singapore, he has allegedly found someone to replace you, while you were still stuck, upset and sulking around for the last few years.

The schemes in this book, how Erika and her friends thought of a way to inconspicuously get back at Richard was a cliché at its best- and I mean this in a good way. I didn’t find it boring, but instead found myself rooting for Erika’s happiness. These were the parts I liked the most, of which made me chuckle a lot despite a few cringe-y moments between them.

However, as I was reading towards the end, I started shaking my head. I am actually not in favor of how this book ended, with them getting back together again. I’m not bitter or anything, I tell you; I just don’t like it how Erika agreed with Richard’s proposal of starting over again, even after he explained why he had to leave in the first place and why he couldn’t tell her the real reason then. It wasn’t enough for me and I would’ve wished Erika showed a stronger way as to how she dealt with the situation. (Like maybe declining Richard’s offer, taking in mind the quote do not go back to the things that hurt you?) But people are suckers at love. I get that now.

I must remind myself that this is a love story. Being a fan of tragic love stories and all, you already know how I would’ve wanted the book to end.

Despite the things I disliked and disagreed with it the book, reading it thoroughly entertained me. I had fun while reading it and gained me several insights as to how a long term relationship should be dealt with, in its ups and downs. Most of all, it got me thinking -which is essentially the best part about this whole experience.

1456592907049-4

I give this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars and would like to recommend it to my friends and followers who would love a good love story, and an exciting one at that.

Thanks for reading! Til the next post. X

PicsArt_10-10-12.55.02

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “[Backlist Revival Project] BOOK TALK: In Over Her Head by Anne Plaza

  1. Pingback: February + March Wrap-Up | pigeonreads

Leave a Reply

