Backlist Revival Project: One Night At The Palace Hotel by Bianca Mori

Howdy y’all! This year, I’m happy to announce that I’ve started joining some blogging projects to challenge myself to blog more and also get to know amazing bloggers. Earlier this month, Carmel invited Filipino bloggers to join the Backlist Revival Project in which Filipino authors and their works are highlighted. (You can follow Carmel’s pretty blog here.) I’m very happy to be part of this project and share the talents of my fellow Filipinos. PH represent!

For the month of January, the book of the month is One Night At The Palace Hotel by Bianca Mori. As the title suggests, you could already guess what the premise of the story is that’s why it was important to have an open mind going into this.

smalllightpinkdots

The other day, I had the privilege and the honor to interview the author, Bianca Mori, and here it is:

 

  1. One of the features of the Backlist Revival Project is your book One Night At The Palace Hotel. Can you give us a brief overview of what it is about?

One Night At The Palace Hotel is the story Consuelo de la Red’s crisis of heart on the night of the launch of her fiancee’s hotel. Years before this night, she made a promise to her family to put their interests before hers, costing her the love of her life. But on this night, she comes face to face with the man she turned away from all those years ago…

  1. Is this your first time being published? And how long did it take you to write this? Tell us some tid bits about your writing journey if you’d like.

This wasn’t my first ever published book, but it was a book of many firsts! It was the first book I wrote under the pen name Bianca Mori. And it was the first steamy book I’d ever written. The experience of writing explicitly about sex for the first time was exciting and thrilling…and then, holding the finished draft in my hand, reading through what I’d written, I had this crazy rush, like: “I cannot believe I just wrote that! What will my co-workers think of me!!” 😛

  1. As with all other authors out there, there was a spark that ignited the flames of their writing career. What inspired you to write One Night At The Palace Hotel?

One Night At The Palace Hotel was part of the #buqosteamyreads class that Mina Esguerra facilitated in late 2013. It was a challenge to romance writers to write a sexy book, which Buqo would publish. I was part of the group assigned “The one who got away” trope. During that same period, I had been reading this non-fiction book called “To Marry An English Lord: Or How Anglomania Really Started,” which was so fascinating to me.

Stephen King wrote in Misery that writers don’t really find ideas – it’s more like they form connections between different things happening in their lives, and the ‘what ifs’ those connections spark become their books. I can say that definitely for ONATPH! It was the connection between something steamy, something about a past love, and something about aristocrats in late 1800s Englad that sparked in my head and eventually became this book.

  1. From the title, it already suggests the book is a sexy one. For you, who’s the book character you find sexiest?

Definitely Sam Jose. In the class, Mina told us to make sure that the love interest was an alpha male. Up until that point, I’d never consciously written an alpha male character, although I loved reading about them! Incorporating what makes an alpha so sexy – that they’re take-charge, dominant and sometimes overwhelming – into my character was a challenge, and also a thrill. And I ended up with a guy that I find really hot. He’s a self-made man, extremely confident and not ashamed to tell it like it is. Yes please!

  1. What [kind of] books do you like to read? And what’s your favorite book so far?

I love reading fantasy, and historical and contemporary romance. I read to escape, so I really like books that take me to a different world. As for my all-time favorite book…it might sound childish but the Harry Potter books have really stood the test of time for me. 🙂 Oh and Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman series. Both series I re-read at least once a year.

  1. Fans of your writing will definitely want to interact with you through the web. What are your social media links? 

Definitely! I blog at thebiancamori.blogspot.com. People can also add me on Facebook or like my Facebook page (click here). I’m also on Twitter, Goodreads and Amazon!

smalllightpinkdots

 About the Author

Bianca Mori is the author of One Night At The Palace Hotel and Tame The Kitten. She is interested in exploring power in romance and enjoys reading about demimondaines, pin-up girls and Jazz Age personalities and hopes to reinterpret these in her stories. She lives with her family and a hyperactive pug.

Sign up for Bianca’s newsletter here!

smalllightpinkdots

Thanks for reading! Til the next post x

PicsArt_10-10-12.55.02[1]

2 thoughts on “Backlist Revival Project: One Night At The Palace Hotel by Bianca Mori

Leave a Reply

