Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016

Howdyyyyy! I thought I’ll make a special post for my Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016 message since I think it needs special recognition in my blog.

As you all may know, I’m not the most active blogger you’ll meet, neither am I the most creative one at that, but of the two months I have been trying to blog, I have met so many great people and have read many blogs that continue to inspire me not just with blogging about books, but reading books and appreciating them as well.

These next lines are going to be a bit cheesy so I apologize in advance. Okay so here goes.

HAPPY

So yeah, I just wanna say that I have never felt like I belonged more in a group than in the book community. I know we come from different countries and are under different time zones, but that doesn’t stop us from *virtually* bonding over the books we love, or discussing issues covered by certain books, and especially fangirling over fictional characters as if they were real.

So many great people are in the book community – authors, readers, and bloggers, alike – I love you all. And if you think this message won’t get any cheesier, I’m sorry, but think again.

Before I actively started reading books on a regular basis, I never knew what to do with my life. I was bored all the time and spent it doing unproductive things like surfing the web for multiple hours a day until I was tired. But I’m happy to say I’ve found myself in books. It’s weird, if you think about it, when you obsess over something that isn’t even real. But I frankly don’t care. I am well aware of how fictional the characters are, but it doesn’t make them any less real in my mind and neither are my emotions over them. “Non-fictional feelings for fictional characters” as that saying goes. (I forgot where I heard it though).

I’d also like to say that because of the book community, you’ll never feel alone. *I never did* And that’s guaranteed! One minute you’re saying something only you thought you enjoyed or are sad over and then the next minute you see others saying they can totally relate to you. And poof! Despite most readers being introverts, it’s easy to find friends in this community.

Moreover, bookish people help you even with non-book related matters. If they know you’re sad, expect sweet words and hugs from these people. And it’s a nice thought that they have your back, and you have theirs.

THANK U CRIES.gif

People aren’t perfect, nobody is. There’s always going to be a positive and a negative side to everything and the book community is no exception to that. But even so, in its diversity and imperfection, I’ll always choose them. They’re literally the best thing that happened to me this 2015.

Thanks to everyone I’ve met this year because of books and I hope to meet more bookish people and interact with them a lot more in 2016. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!!! ❤

4 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016

Leave a Reply

