TOP TEN TUESDAY: TOP 10 NEW-TO-ME AUTHORS I’VE READ FOR THE FIRST TIME

IMG_20151201_212210

PicsArt_12-01-10.07.56[1]

 

Howdy ya’ll! It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday! This meme is created by The Broke and The Bookish and for this week, our TTT is Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I’ve Read For The First Time.

Okay, so I must confess that I wasn’t an active reader in high school, especially since my time was devoted to being a student body leader, so I only had time to read back then were books by Nicholas Sparks. Now don’t get me wrong, I like Nicholas Sparks and the tragic love stories he writes (and most of us have probably gone through this phase, too) but I am so over those cliche love stories.

With this being said, most, if not all, of the authors in this Top Ten are authors who may be familiar to many but have been new-to-me authors I’ve read for the first time this year.

10. Lauren Oliver

Lauren Oliver

I’ve only ever read one book from her so far, and it is Before I Fall. A friend recommended it to me saying she loved the book and wanted me to read it as well despite knowing how much I love fantasy stories more than contemporary ones. Although I didn’t love the book as much as she did, I liked the lessons the book taught and how the story played out. I’m deciding whether to pick up her other books later next year. πŸ™‚

9. Amie Kaufman

Amie Kaufman

There are two of her books I had the pleasure of reading. One is These Broken Stars and the other – which I am currently reading and practically fangirled over almost everyone I know – Illuminae. I wasn’t head over heels for These Broken Stars (which is sad because I love sci-fi) but the story didn’t cut out to be good enough for me. But I am feeling redemption with Illuminae. πŸ˜€

8. Marissa Meyer

marissa meyer

Her name is all over social media now, how can you not have come across this name? Well anyways, I’ve started reading the Lunar Chronicles last March this year and have yet to read Winter (because so many books are piling up on my TBR again). But I would say her books are so amazing because it makes you feel so many feels. You may think fairytale spin-offs are cliche, but that certainly does not apply to Marissa. Her books aren’t hype for nothing! πŸ™‚

7. David Levithan

david levithan

So far, I have only read one of his books and it is Every Day. I LOVED this book and it gave me an idea of how his writing style is – which is amazing. For those who have read Every day, you would know it features several points of views. I found it very interesting how he could do justice to that, and also how he tells the story – its gripping, its relatable, it touches your heart. And although I have only read one book from him, I’ll stand by this.

6. Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo

She is honestly one of my most anticipated authors this year! I’ve been hearing a lot of talk about the Grisha trilogy and Six of Crows. I have only read Shadow and Bone from her, and am currently reading Siege and Storm. The way she builds worlds is so beautiful and just everything I would like to read. I also admire the way her writing makes you anticipate one chapter from the next. I can’t wait to read the rest of her books.

5. Tahereh Mafi

tahereh mafi

Would you not agree with me if I said she is one of the cutest slash most beautiful slash most stylist authors out there? I practically devoured her books: The Shatter Me trilogy along with her two novellas compiled into one book called Unite Me. Her writing is one of the most unique ones there are. Her words and phrases and sentences are just so perfect its one of the things that’ll stick to you when you read her books. ❀

4. Cassandra Clare

Cassandra clare

I have read 10 of her books which include The Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices trilogy, and The Bane Chronicles. Her writing is really witty and funny and action packed and she writes [one of] the best chapter enders and cliffhangers! I really like reading her books and am continuously fascinated by how she can connect different stories of different characters even in different periods of time. I highly recommend her books The Infernal Devices HER BOOKS πŸ˜‰ *I still think TID is the best trilogy ever*

3. Rick Riordan

rick riordan

I first encountered Percy Jackson in the movies. And, sigh, I fell asleep while watching it. I wouldn’t blame the movie, though. My attention span for movies is definitely not as long as I am with books. So I put off reading Percy Jackson and boy do I regret that very much. Now that I have read around 7 of his books, I have three words to describe his writing: Epic, funny, and very creative.

2. Jennifer L. Armentrout

jennifer armentrout

I love, love, LOVE this author so much. She is down-to-earth and is an amazing person just as she’s an amazing writer. I will forever thank her for writing the Lux series and introducing me us to Daemon. ❀ Her writing is filled with epic adventure, sizzling romances and to-die-for male leads. Of her many written masterpieces, I have only read Lux but am going to pick up the Covenant series real soon!

  1. Sarah J. Maas

sarah j maas

I started reading Throne of Glass only this year and I’m just really high-fiving my past self for picking the book up and falling in love with her books – ALL OF THEM. I can’t even decide which one is my favorite! I could gush about her writing style for days because I just love how her writing empowers me. I’m highly anticipating ACOMAF and TOG5 next year and I’m sure most of you are, too! And oh gosh, you guys, this is gonna be a long and torturous wait.

smalllightpinkdots

So these are my TOP 10 New to Me Authors, who are yours?

Connect with me anytime through my other social media accounts as well πŸ™‚

twittergoodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862d

smalllightpinkdots

PicsArt_10-10-12.55.02[1]

 

10 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: TOP 10 NEW-TO-ME AUTHORS I’VE READ FOR THE FIRST TIME

  1. I discovered Sarah J. Maas this year too, and she’s one of my favourite authors! Sadly I didn’t enjoy QoS as much as I did her other books, but I adored the rest of the series, and I loved ACOTAR too! I’m super excited for ACOMAF too – the cover is even more beautiful than the previous one. This is such a great list!

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy to have picked up her book while the series is still ongoing and get to share all the feels with fellow readers! πŸ˜€ QoS has mixed reviews, but I honestly liked it very much though your opinion is appreciated πŸ™‚ ACOMAF excites me so much!!! TAMLINNNNNN OH GODS ABOVE I wish he’ll be okay. I’m kind of nervous about him, lol. Anyways, thank you so much!

      btw, I can’t follow you on blogspot bc I don’t have an account there 😦 do you have a wordpress so I could follow you? ^^

      Like

  2. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAY: BEST BOOKS I READ IN 2015 | pigeonreads

Leave a Reply

