TOP 10 BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS

PicsArt_12-05-12.28.37[1]

background photo used is from unsplash.com; a photo by Sebastian Unrau

Howdy ya’ll! This was supposed to be one of the first posts I planned to post when I started blogging but then procrastination hit me – as always. I drafted some books I’d like to share to you but over the weeks, I didn’t get to finish it. But now I get to, so yey!

One of the first book bloggers I came to know is Faye from The Social Potato and I read one of her posts saying that she’s going through every reader’s dreaded reading slump. I find most, if not all, of the following books easy reads and I hope it’ll be of help not only to Faye, but also to every one who is under a reading slump.

These are books vary from funny and sad to action-packed and everything in between. Most in the list are fantasy books *because I love fantasy* but for all you contemporary book loving people out there, there are also books here for you.

Also note that these books don’t include new releases since I wrote this post way before I started blogging two months ago and I still stand by it.

Let’s get started!

10. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

AnnaFrenchKissCover

If you’re looking for a feel-good book, or a light book that’ll just make you laugh and smile and make your day even better, this book is for you! The book follows the story of Anna Oliphant when her father sent her to France for her studies. She misses her best friend and *crush* that she left back in the States. Her life in Paris gradually gets easier with the help of her new friends, Mer, Rashimi, Josh and St. Clair. Etienne St. Clair – a cute, british boy who loves history and is 100% Mr. Congeliaty in their school. Eventually, Anna grows to like him. But uh-oh. There’s one teensy-weensy little problem: Etienne has a girlfriend.

This book will make you laugh, frustrated and laugh even harder. The plot of the story as a whole is really cute and light and is a very easy read – which I would also recommend for those who are in a reading slump, this book might help you!

My rating for the book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

9. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful disaster

This is one of the first YA books that got me back into reading after so many months of putting off reading. This is an easy read although the theme of the book isn’t as exactly as β€œlight” as our previous book. The story opens when Abby Abernathy, along with her friends America and Shepley, were watching a Circle Fight. And there, in the pit, was Travis Maddox. Travis never really believed in love. Sure, he was a ladies’ man – he had a reputation of breaking girls’ hearts after his infamous one night stands with them. He never took anything seriously, until he met Abby. Every step of their journey is a real page turner and the book will definitely stick to you!

Follow their roller coaster love story and prepare to be happy, to be frustrated, to be mad and prepare a box of tissues.

Plus, I really loved this book and it made me fall in love with Travis SO MUCH. And I’m sure you’ll eventually add him on your fictional boyfriend list, too *casually winks*

DISCLAIMER: The book may contain bloody scenes (since Circle fights happen), and some adult content.

My rating for the book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

8. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

 

As the title suggests, this book is PERFECT for all you fangirls out there! This is one of the first books that got me really hooked up with YA, just as much as the previous book did. For months, this story never got off my head and to this day I still feel that the fictional character I could relate to the most would be Cather Avery. (I’m sure every fangirl out there would – could- relate to her just as much as I did, too.)

I also found this a light and easy read. I couldn’t put it down – I just had this urge to keep reading it. This helped me with my slump and hopefully, it’ll help yours as well πŸ™‚

 My rating for the book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Β 

  1. The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

tchoyam

 

Funny. Relatable. Tear-jerking. That’s how I would describe the book. I read this is one day – because it was THAT hard to put down this book. I also consider it one of my comfort books for several reasons. One is that when I read it, it gives me that warm, light feeling that gives me peace but at the same time makes me lost in the book in the best way possible.

It’s about a girl named Brie who dies because of a heart break and she sees how her world changes after her death and how much more she’ll get to know her friends and the people she loves when she’s out of the picture. Because she died, she stays in this β€œin between” life and death world, sort of described as heaven and there she meets Patrick Darling. Patrick will then guide her with the do’s and don’ts in the afterlife and so much more.

I promise you, this book will stick to you. I have read this so many months ago, and I reread a few parts of the story and it still hit home. *yes, I cry because of books a lot*. You won’t regret adding this to your TBR!

My rating for this book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 +.5 (because I just love this so much and it’s not even number one yet)

Β 

  1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder_Cover

This is the first sci-fi book mentioned in this list but nevertheless as great as the aforementioned books, probably even better (but I love these books all so much it’s hard to rank them). It’s a story that loosely follows Cinderella. But instead of Cinderella, we have Cinder, a cyborg who just wants to live a normal life and gets through each day under the horrible hands of her step-mother and step sisters with the company of her best friend, Iko, an android.

I find this story so unique, so gripping, and very beautiful and simply just hard to put down. From the very first chapter, I knew this book was unlike any other I’ve read and I was right. This is the first book in a four-book series of which the final installment has been released only recently.

There’s science, there’s romance, there’s the battle for power, there’s a futuristic world – almost everything I love could be found in this book I just love it. If you have read this, leave a comment and let’s fangirl together.

Once you’ve read this make sure to read the rest of the series: Scarlet, Cress, Fairest (a novella), and Winter.

My rating for this book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5

5.Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter me new eye co#1A459

THIS IS ONE OF MY TOP READS THIS YEAR. I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH I DON’T KNOW HOW MUCH I CAN EMPHASIZE THIS. Although seriously, I am in love with this book. This book definitely stays with you even after you have finished it – or at least as far as I’m concerned. This is the first book in a trilogy and when I finished reading the trilogy, I was at a loss for words in the best way possible.

The way Tahereh wrote this story – how we got to see Juliette’s point of view… it was one of the most amazingly creative stories I have read. I also found it very easy to connect myself with the book and with what the MC is going through – though not in the literal and actual sense, but emotion-wise.

I would recommend this to every single one of my friends because it simply should be read. I couldn’t put this book down easily and just flew through the whole series including two of its novellas.

My rating for this book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

  1. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover

I think no matter how much time passes between this book’s release date to the present, I will always recommend this to someone who needs a good book to read whether they have read this before or not.

Whether you like Greek mythology (which is what mostly inspires the book) or not, you’ll definitely love this. If you haven’t heard of this yet, I would ask how in the world have you not heard of this yet? but then again, it’s a great opportunity for you to get introduced with the series.

This is the first book in a five-book series and DO NOT FOR ONE SECOND THINK THAT THIS IS A DRAGGING SERIES NOR IT IS A LONG ONE. It’s such an easy, light and funny read you wouldn’t be able to notice you’re already on your fourth or fifth book already.

Go forth and read this, reader. Your life will be better.

My rating for this book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne-of-glass-big

Throne of Glass. Celaena. Chaol. Dorian.Β Need I say more?Β 

Well, technically yes, I do so. This is the first book in a six-book series and it is kick-ass awesome. The series is still on-going and it is admittingly hyped. BUTTTTTTT the hype for this book matches how good the book is, heck it even exceeds ones expectations.

I found this yet another book which I rather easily immersed in and got lost in all its wonders and never wanted to come back. I wanted to stay so bad in this world – in Rifthold, in Adarlan, in Celaena’s mind – I didn’t want to let this book go.

I’m basically just blabbering about it and it may appear as incoherent to many, so I’ll just leave you with this: go read it. Read it now. You’re welcome.

2. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork_Angel_1

Just seeing William Herondale on the cover is enough for me. I could just stare at it all day. I’m not sure if many of you have read the personally most wonderful trilogy of all time of which the first book is this, but I will still recommend it to you, no less.

This is the first book in the prequel trilogy of The Mortal Instruments series which dates back to the 19th century, specifically in 1878 in London. So expect some English traditional ways, dreamy Shadowhunter English men, that fine English accent (yes, I am practically obsessed with English things), an intriguing love story, and action-packed scenes bordering along the lines of epic and grandiose.

And if that’s not enough for you, you get to meet the amazing parabatais William Herondale and James Carstairs, and let’s not forget the ever witty, Tessa Gray, who I dub as someone every man wants to be with and every girl wants to be. (This is only limited to my personal preference, though.) Reading this would also give you a clearer understanding of the Shadowhunter world.

Highly recommend! πŸ˜€

My rating for this book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 + 🌟 (because Will)

*drumrolls* Now we are on to the book taking up our number one spot:

1. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian

I will forever be thankful of this book for all the feels it has given me. I would never, ever, have thought of blogging about books if not for this one. The main character, Katy Swartz, blogged about books and she even had a shirt that said “My blog is better than your blog” and I just really wanted to be like her or at least attempt to, so I first started blogging on tumblr. Then I wanted to blog on blogging platforms like wordpress so I could share my thoughts and feelings at best.

Another reason why I love this book so much is because it has aliens in it. I. LOVE. ALIENS. And I do believe they really exist. But anyways, I found this part of the story very interesting and very captivating.

One of the main reasons why I think you should read this though, is because of Daemon Black. I’m willing to bet he’ll always be my number 1 fictional boyfriend no matter how much books I read. Yep, I love him that much. And I think you will to once you get to know him. *wink wink*

This is also the first book in a five-book series. It is an easy read than most would think so I suggest you go pick this up and give it a shot πŸ˜€

My rating for the book: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 (it goes on…)

greendots

I do apologize for this post getting out of hand and going over 2,000 words. But I do hope you enjoyed this. Til the next post! πŸ™‚

greendots

PicsArt_10-10-12.55.02[1]

6 thoughts on “TOP 10 BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS

  1. I agree to all/most of these (since I only read like half your list)! Gosh looks like i really need to get to Catastrophic History of You and Me now! I have a feeling this will be like All the Bright Places πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

