OCTOBER WRAP-UP

Howdy ya’ll! Happy Halloween! (I may be a little late in greeting, but better late than never).

For the month of October, I have read 8 books. All of which I loved, some more than others but I’m really happy this month was a month of good books!

So let’s get started! πŸ˜€

greendotsimages[1]

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

The Bane Chronicles is a compilation of 10 novellas set in different times from the year 1791 until 2007/2008. The story follows Magnus Bane’s epic adventures all over the world with different people such as his fellow warlocks, Catarina Loss and Ragnor Fell, the Herondales, Tessa Gray, Jem Carstairs and Alec Lightwood, to name a handful. It’s action-packed just as it is funny. I remember reading this in public (because I can’t stop reading, really) on the bus ride on my way home. I giggled and chuckled alot and got wide-eyed with page after page and it was just a really fun reading experience most especially having encountered her characters in her other books of the Shadowhunter world.

If you have read The Infernal Devices and the Mortal Instruments, this is just one more reason to love this book! πŸ˜€

15749186Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This wasn’t in my TBR list for the month of October and I was actually planning to put this off until next year because I found the cover and the title a little too cheesy for my taste. But a friend recommended me this and I thought, Fine, I’ll give this one a go. AND I DO NOT REGRET IT.

It’s one of the cutest books I have read and the characters just stick with you even after you’ve read it. Plus the cliffhanger towards the end makes you want to pick up the next book immediately (which is exactly what happened in my case, which also brings us to the next book in my October wrap-up).

I have a book talk of it here πŸ˜€

P.S.-I-still-love-you-Jenny-Han-coverTitle: P.S. I Still Love You

Author: Jenny Han

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

I picked up this book right after I finished To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and I honestly liked the first book better but I liked this one, too! This book was more problematic compared to the first one but one could easily relate to the MC’s experiences and thoughts in this book which made me nod and agree to what she had to say.

I liked this book a lot and this would be a perfect book for you especially if you have crushes or there’s a special someone you have.

I also have a book talk of this right here πŸ™‚

images_(1)[1]Title: Mockingjay

Author: Suzanne Collins

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This book gave me a lot of goosebumps- in a good way. I felt connected with the emotions pouring through Katniss Everdeen, her hate towards the Capitol and her resistance to bow down to a life of slavery. IT WAS SO GOOD. The scenes were so gripping it made me awe, it made me chuckle, it made me cry, heck, it even made me shout at the pages because I loved it so much.

I wasn’t able to make a book talk of this (which is a bummer) but there are spoiler things I want to say about this but at the same time I don’t wanna spoil you. All I can say is, the deaths in this book took me by surprise. They shocked me and made my eyes sweat yet again. The strategies our main characters, the Capitol rebels. face make you hold on to the edge of your seat because of course you want to see Capitol’s downfall (we all do.)

Also, for KatPee shippers out there, THIS BOOK MADE ME FEEL SO MUCH MIXED EMOTIONS. For those of you who haven’t read it yet, you’re in for a treat!

I couldn’t say more. I love this book and I recommend it to all of you.

The_Lost_Hero_210Title: The Lost Hero

Author: Rick Riordan

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

As you can expect with Rick’s books, it is equally epic as it is funny. I cannot tell you how many times I laughed while reading this. We meet new characters as well as old ones so that, for me, makes it 10x more awesome-er (if that was a word). There’s also a problem we eventually solve towards the end of the book which would make you gasp and worry for a certain character *I’m not telling πŸ˜‚;)*

I really enjoyed reading this book and I hope you would, too!

(I have a book talk about it here )

images_(2)[1]Title: Every Day

Author: David Levithan

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This is one of the most unique books I have ever read. It’s about astral traveling (this is the closest term I could think of as to how I would describe the situation in the book). It’s about A waking up in different bodies every single day. Everything was fine and all worked as if it was a routine until he met Rhiannon. He then started going out of his way, disobeying his self-imposed rule of not getting making much difference in the lives of those he becomes for a day.

I loved how we got to explore the perspectives of different kinds of people and how we get to go through the journey of the main character towards finding their way to love. (This sounds cheesy but I promise, the book isn’t cheesy. Curse my ineloquency.) The ending, however, I’M TRYING SO HARD NOT TO SAY ANYTHING THAT WILL SPOIL YOU BUT… just prepare your tissues. That is all.

images_(3)[1]Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

THIS BOOK IS BLOODY AMAZEBALLS. (Not literally bloody, though). I think this might be my most favorite Rainbow Rowell book to date. The main characters, Simon and Baz, are magicians studying at Watford to practice and hone their magic skills. (Harry Potter feels, I know.) Then there is this impending war against the Insidious Humdrum which is supposed to be the reason for magic disappearing. One more reason why I love this book so much is because it gives light to gay relationships. Few books tackle this, and everybody knows we need diverse books πŸ˜€Β  It’s cute when the main characters slowly fess up to each other about how they feel and it was so good the way their relationship turned out to be. The magic in this book is so entertaining as it is powerful. A funny, magic-filled, funny book rolled into one!

I highly recommend this because IT IS A DEFINITE MUST READ 😍

images_(4)[1]Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I’m way behind on this wagon because I’ve only just read this now. (I regret that). This is another off the charts good book! Tris, the main character, is this girl whose identity is considered a threat to the ‘peace’ of their community. There are five factions wherein the people are divided; Dauntless, Abnegation, Candor, Amity and Erudite which highlights bravery, selflessness, honesty, kindess and intelligence, respectively. Tris turns out to be none of these. She is Divergent.

On the day of the Choosing ceremony, 16 year olds of every faction get to pick if they would stay with their old faction or if they would transfer to another one for good.

Despite choosing Dauntless, she discovers she is so much more. With the help of Four, one of the Dauntless leaders.

Like the other books mentioned, this is an action-packed books that is so gripping, it makes you want to turn page after page. The romance is this book… I LOVE IT. I love every scene of Tris and Four, I feel like I’m a 13-year old girl when I squeal for them. I feel like I want to praise this book so much but I think this post is already too long πŸ˜‚

Anyways, I highly recommend this to you because IT’S. SO. GOOD.

greendots

So that is my October wrap-up! Thanks for reading! πŸ’• Feel free to share your thoughts with me through my other social media accounts! πŸ˜€

brightgreentwitter[1] pigeonxx

brightgreengoodreads[1] pigeonxx

brightgreentumblr[1] apigeonwithabook

greendots

PicsArt_10-10-12.55.02[1]

2 thoughts on “OCTOBER WRAP-UP

Leave a Reply

