BOOK TALK: TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE BY JENNY HAN

Howdy ya’ll! Today we’re reviewing:

15749186

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE BY JENNY HAN

smalllightpinkdots[1]

Let me start this review by saying that this book was SO MUCH FUN TO READ. As much as it’s obvious in my spazzes on my other accounts, I have been reading a lot of fantasy and action-packed books recently. So it was nice to read something as light and funny as this book, and I’m glad that this is my first contemporary book after so long.

The story’s about this one girl, Lara Jean, who writes letters to the boys she has loved before. Hence, the title. The letters she writes aren’t actually love love letters. They’re like goodbye love letters. When she has a crush on someone, only when her feelings would end would she write a letter to them. It’s kind of like a closure to her. But she doesn’t send them. Those letters are only for her.

Then one day she finds out all the letters were sent out to the last people she’d hoped would get to read them. So then the story starts.

You’d think that this book would be so cheesy and all. Actually, yes it is. But not in the annoying way. It makes you wanna turn page after page even more. It has quite a number of awkward scenes that will definitely make you laugh. It’s also a coming of age book so it makes it quite relatable.

I laughed a lot when I was reading this book. Funny thing is, 50% of when I was reading, I was reading it in public. But it didn’t stop me from having giggles and chuckles. No regrets, though. No regrets.

If you wanna be entertained and get that lovey dovey feeling again and spark that romantic side of you, go pick up this book and it will surely not disappoint! 🙂

*SPOILER BORDER! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK YET GO READ IT FIRST THEN COME BACK AFTER. GOODBYE AND SEE YA! :)*

lightpinkdots[1]

Lara Jean Song Covey. One of the quirkiest characters I have ever read about. She is so fun, so creative and so innocent in a world where teenagers are very much into relationships, not to mention sexual activities. But no, not Lara Jean.

There are a total of five boys that she has written letters to: 1) Lucas ; 2) John Ambrose McClaren ; 3) Ken from camp ; 4) Peter Kavinsky ; and 5) Josh Sanderson.

Things that unfold after the letters were sent are so funny. There were a lot of awkward moments where Lara Jean was trapped in a hard-to-get-out-of situation and it was hilarious. I also love how the conversations went along in the book where a lot of light joking around and insults for fun were thrown. What’s funnier is, you realize you say those exact same words as well.

One of the boys she has written to, was actually gay. All the other people knew it, but Lara Jean. She just thought Lucas was just cleaner and more fashionable than the other guys. John moved to another house so she wasn’t exactly sure if he received it. Then Ken’s letter was sent back to Lara Jean without so much as a response.

Which leaves us with two boys: Peter Kavinsky and Josh Sanderson.

The problem is, Josh would have been perfect. If it wasn’t for Margot, her sister, being exes with him. So when Josh tries to confront Lara Jean about the letter, she quickly forms a plan when Peter walks by and she has this idea that Peter is her “boyfriend” so that Josh would know that her feelings for him are history, which isn’t entirely the case.

But the plan works and Peter adds a bargain. He just broke up with his girlfriend Genevieve, and he’d like to send a message for her that they are done for good. By pretending that Lara Jean is her girlfriend. Perfect, right? Wrong.

The girls that Peter date are primary target for public humiliation courtesy of Genevieve herself. She’ll spread nasty rumors that’ll make you want to run for the hills and leave Peter. This worries Lara Jean a lot but has no choice but to agree.

So they decided to pretend date to save face and also to prove a point to their exes (or ex-crush and ex-girlfriend, in this case).

I find it really cute how Peter would come to their house and help out with Lara Jean baking and whatever else she does. I also love how Peter cares for Kitty, Lara Jean’s little sister. Nobody can resist a man who loves children and is patient with them. I know you think the same. 😂 Then you’d think “Peter, are you still pretending? ‘Cause I feel it getting real. I feel it.”

One day, Lara Jean decides to end their little roleplay but Peter wanted them to continue until after the ski trip – a trip Lara Jean didn’t like to go to but was forced to because of Peter. Lara Jean’s uncomfortable being alone with Peter and his friends, especially with Genevieve coming, too, so she calls her friend Chris, (no, Chris is not a boy. She’s a girl) and convinces her to come along.

Problems start when Lara Jean and Chris sat next to each other because Peter wanted to sit beside Lara Jean because they were, in fact, still “dating”. Which is a cute gesture. He’s jealous. He’s jealous. He’s jealous. And Chris isn’t even a boy, he simply wants Lara Jean’s attention.

They had a fight here so I was nervous for the characters and I even wondered if it would be the end of their deal. But Lara Jean came to see Peter that night and it all ended with late night kisses and a quick dip in the hot tub. That’s what I call Kiss and Make up. 😉

I was really happy when they made up just because I really like them together. So cute and innocent and just having fun just as teenagers should do.

The book ended with Lara Jean writing to Peter a REAL LOVE LETTER. Not a letter for goodbyes or closure. But a REAL one. Because she realized that she did like Peter, after all. She writes “Dear Peter,” AND THEN THE BOOK ENDS.

MAJOR CLIFFHANGER, I KNOW. You’d wanna pick up the next book, P.S. I Still Love You, right after you finish the last page like I did! It was just THAT good.

Also, on another note, which I think this eventually becomes a minor detail in the book because of the turn of events in it, Kitty spilled the beans on who sent Lara Jean’s letters to those boys.

Well I’ll give you a clue. Her name starts with a K and ends with a -itty. 😁😁😁

I loved reading it, I loved reviewing it. I hope you enjoyed it, too. Thanks for reading! My next post will be up soon. Til then! Byeee xx

I loved reading it, I loved reviewing it. I hope you enjoyed it, too. Thanks for reading! My next post will be up soon! Byeeee xx

tealdivider[1]

Also, feel free to share your thoughts with me in my other accounts:

pinktwitter_(1)[1]http://twitter.com/pigeonxx

pinkgoodreads_(1)[1]http://goodreads.com/pigeonxx

pinktumblr_(1)[1]http://apigeonwithabook.tumblr.com

tealdivider[1]

PicsArt_10-08-10.14.09[1]

2 thoughts on “BOOK TALK: TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE BY JENNY HAN

  1. Pingback: P.S. I STILL LOVE YOU BOOK REVIEW (NO SPOILERS) | pigeonreads

  2. Pingback: OCTOBER WRAP-UP | pigeonreads

Leave a Reply

